What is private copying?

Facts

  • share
  • share on FaceBook
  • share on Twitter
  • share on Google Plus
http://www.copieprivee.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/livre_numerique.jpg

Private copying is…

Copying musical works, books, documentaries, images, series or films on a USB flash drive, tablet, set-top box or smartphone for one’s personal use is perfectly legal: it is in fact a freedom, made possible thanks to the private copying system.

Private copying is an exception to authors’ rights which involves financial compensation. The principle is simple: the purchase price of a storage device (blank DVD or CD, USB flash drive, external hard drive, tablet, smartphone, etc) includes a share payable by the consumer to remunerate creators, authors, performers, publishers and producers. This is the private copy levy. This remuneration also serves to support cultural initiatives all over France: 25% of the total remuneration for private copying serves to fund these events in the general interest.

NB: When such equipment is acquired for professional uses by corporations or private individuals, COPIE FRANCE has provided for a system for reimbursement or exemption.

Private copying is a flexible efficient system based on negotiation and consensus between representatives of consumers, beneficiaries, authors, performers and producers, and of importers of recording media. Thus, for nearly 30 years, private copying has guaranteed a balance between the public’s natural aspiration to have access to works and the principle of fair remuneration for creators. It also has a major role in territories’ artistic vitality, since over 5,000 cultural projects receive support thanks to the private copy levy in France every year.

Key figures

Over 200,000 artists (creators and performers) benefit from the private copy levy.

Over 5,000 cultural events and initiatives are supported each year all over France thanks to the private copy levy.

Of €100 collected for private copying payable to authors, performers and producers, €25 go to funding cultural initiatives of general interest.

 

Close

Qu’est-ce que la copie privée ?

Définition

  • partager
  •  FaceBook
  •  Twitter
  •  Google Plus
http://www.copieprivee.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/livre_numerique.jpg

La copie privée, c’est…

Copier des morceaux de musique, des livres, des documentaires, des images, des séries ou des films sur sa clé USB, sa tablette, sa box ou son smartphone pour son usage personnel est parfaitement légal : il s’agit même d’une liberté, qui a été rendue possible grâce au dispositif de la copie privée.

La copie privée est une exception au droit d’auteur qui fait l’objet d’une compensation financière. Son principe est simple : lors de l’achat d’un support de stockage (DVD ou CD vierge, clé USB, disque dur externe, tablette, smartphone etc.) une partie du prix payé par le consommateur rémunère les créateurs, les auteurs, les éditeurs, les artistes-interprètes, les éditeurs et les producteurs : c’est la rémunération pour copie privée. Cette rémunération sert aussi à soutenir des manifestations culturelles partout en France. 25 % du montant total de la rémunération pour copie privée finance ces manifestations dans l’intérêt général.

À noter : lorsque l’achat de matériel est réalisé à des fins professionnelles par des entreprises ou des particuliers, il existe un système de remboursement ou d’exonération mis en œuvre par la société Copie France.

La copie privée est un dispositif souple et efficace qui repose sur la négociation et le consensus entre les représentants des consommateurs, des bénéficiaires, auteurs,artistes-interprètes et producteurs, et des importateurs de supports de stockage. Depuis près de 30 ans, la copie privée assure ainsi un équilibre entre l’aspiration naturelle du public à accéder aux œuvres et le principe de la rémunération équitable des créateurs. Elle joue également un rôle majeur dans la vitalité artistique des territoires, puisque plus de 5000 projets culturels sont soutenus chaque année par la rémunération pour copie privée en France.

Error: Invalid URL!

Chiffres clés

Plus de 200 000 artistes (créateurs et interprètes) bénéficient de la rémunération pour copie privée.

Plus de 5 000 manifestations et initiatives culturelles soutenues chaque année dans toute la France grâce à la rémunération pour copie privée.

Sur 100 € collectés pour la copie privée revenant aux auteurs, artistes-interprètes et producteurs, 25 € sont affectés au financement d’actions d’intérêt général pour la culture.

Close